Wednesday, 19 June 2019

Beyond Reasonable Doubt by Gary Bell - Blog Tour Review



Elliot Rook QC is one of the greatest barristers of his generation. 

He is also a complete fraud.

Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now.

An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook's home town. Billy Barber - a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist - is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building.

The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed QC

My Review 

Beyond Reasonable Doubt is the first in a new series featuring QC Elliot Rook, and what a cracking book to kick off a new series with! Gary Bell has written a legal thriller that I throughly enjoyed and couldn't put down. From the characters to the plot the entire book is written so well and I was immersed in the story. I loved all the courtroom drama and reading about QC's and how they work was fascinating. 
Rook has tried desperately to forget about his troubled and humble upbringing. He has let people believe he has been educated to a much higher level than he actually was and is from an entirely different background. When a case turns up that brings his past back to haunt him, Rook has to try his best to stay professional and hold his nerve. With his new junior, Zara, he needs to find a way to win the case. Not only for the accused sake but for his own. 
Zara is an excellent character, she is edgy and speaks her mind. She herself has come from a humble background and wants more than anything to have a successful career. The relationship between Rook and Zara is so refreshing, she is just about the only person Rook can be honest with, even though he has only recently met her. 
Beyond Reasonable Doubt is an exceptionally good read and I am excited to see where the series goes. Gary Bell obviously has experience and knowledge in this field and it shines through his writing. If you like a legal drama/thriller this is a must read. 

About Gary Bell


Born into a coal mining family, Gary Bell QC left school without any qualifications and was an apprentice mechanic, fork lift truck driver, production line worker, builder, fireman and door-to-door salesman, as well as a notorious football hooligan, before being arrested for fraud aged 18. After a brief stint in prison he set off to seek fame and fortune abroad and, after two years drifting around Europe ended up penniless and homeless. He next enrolled in a FE College to study his O and A levels, and then went on to study law as a mature student at Bristol University where he 'became' an Old Etonian. After graduating he spent a year as a litigation lawyer in Beverly Hills before coming back to England to become a barrister. He has spent over thirty years at the Bar, specialising in defending in major fraud and murder trials, becoming a QC in 2012. Always on the look out for challenges and opportunities he has also been an award winning stand-up comedian; an after-dinner speaker (when at University he won several national debating competitions and was runner up in the World's Humorous Debating Competition at Princeton); he has learned to fly a plane, hosted his own TV show (the Legalizer) on BBC1; writes regularly for national newspapers; has a column in The Spectator and wrote his best-selling autobiography, Animal QC.


Social Media:

Purchase Links


SHARE:

1 comment

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig