Thursday, 23 May 2019

The Woman Next Door by Sue Watson - Books On Tour



Have you ever had a secret that you couldn’t tell a soul, even the people you love? I have.’

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life – with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend – is more glamorous than Lucy’s.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it is to keep her past to herself. But Amber’s boyfriend has left her just when she needs him most, and she doesn’t have anyone else.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend... can’t she?

Gripping and unputdownable, The Woman Next Door tells a story about the dark side of friendship, and has a final twist that will shock every reader. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainFriend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

About the author


Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked. 

A USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fourteen novels, many involving cake and ice cream which have been translated into several languages and involved a great deal of 'research.' Sue's now exploring the darker side of life with her second thriller 'All Her Secrets,' a dark, twisted tale questioning just how well we know our friends. This new genre doesn't involve baked goods or frozen treats and Sue's hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent procrastinating, eating and watching 'My 600lb Life,' on the sofa.

more info visit Sue's website;http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook athttps://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

My Review

Oh I do love a story involving an unknown stalker! When Lucy meets her new neighbour, Amber, she is quite impressed and wants to get to know her better. I got the feeling Lucy was a bit fed up with her own life so latches on to Amber to try and have some fun and give her a new lease on life. 

The two women become close, although they are an unlikely duo. I thought Lucy was quite needy and eager to please. While Amber was stand-offish and demanding. Lucy is excited to introduce her new friend to her husband and other friends, although they are not as impressed by the glamorous Amber as she is.

I absolutely whizzed through The Woman Next Door, thanks to Sue Watson's superb writing. This book is right up my street, it had so many things I look for in a novel.

As always with this type of story, it is difficult to say too much without giving things away. But for me this is definitely one to be added to your reading list. The Woman Next Door is a cracking read and I look forward to reading more from Sue Watson.

Thank you to Bookouture for a digital arc of this book to read and review for the tour. 


SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig