Friday, 26 April 2019

The Dare by Carol Wyer - Books on Tour Review



Jane’s daughter is a good girl. But what is she hiding?

When thirteen-year-old Savannah Hopkins doesn’t come straight home from school as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm. With her blonde ponytail and red school jumper, someone must have spotted Savannah.

Detective Natalie Ward is determined to help the distraught mother – her own daughter is the same age as Savannah. But before Natalie and her team can get started, their worst fears are confirmed when the teenager’s broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points towards a local recluse, but just as Natalie closes the net around him, one of Savannah’s friends, Harriet, is reported missing. Harriet might look grown up and sophisticated but she is only fourteen…

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on both their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours. She’s sure this is the key to the case, but before she can act, Harriet’s body is found discarded on a roadside. 

Natalie’s superiors don’t have to put any extra pressure on Natalie. Devastated, she and her team work without sleep, watching that video over and over. But just as she thinks they’re getting close, the person Natalie loves more than anything goes missing.

Natalie is no stranger to loss. She is terrified and the clock is ticking. Can she push through her fear to catch this depraved killer, before her loved one becomes the next victim?

This gripping rollercoaster of a read will have you up in the small hours turning the pages. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare. 

About the author


Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.

Her book, GRUMPY OLD MENOPAUSE won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.

Carol moved to the ‘dark side’ in 2017 with as series of thrillers. LITTLE GIRL LOST became the #2 best-selling book on Amazon, #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible and a Top 150 USA Today best-seller.

The DI Robyn Carter and DI Natalie Ward series have sold over half a million copies, earning her acclaim as a crime writer.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ''Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and the Huffington Post.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 
Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com

My Review

I am a massive fan of Carol Wyer's books and have been loving this series featuring Detective Natalie Ward.
Carol Wyer has such a great way of writing, her descriptions and characters are exceptional.
The Dare is a fast-paced and gripping read. It is the third in the series. While it can be read as a standalone, I would highly recommend the other books in series, which are some of the best books I have read in this genre.
One of my favourite parts of this series is the characters. While Natalie is the main character, I really enjoy reading about her workmates who bring just as much to the book. 
Natalie is having problems at home, and she tries desperately not to let it effect her work. I always enjoy learning what goes in detectives private lives. I feel it gives the book an extra dimension, as it can have an impact on the way they investigate. 
As always Natalie is determined to solve the case and help the families get justice and find out what happened. The book covers some troubling aspects of social media, and how it can be mis-used by young people. 
Packed full of twists I found it difficult to stop reading. Once again Carol has delivered an outstanding read and I can't wait to see what she has to offer next. The Dare will definitely be in my top ten reads of this year.

SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig