Friday, 18 January 2019

The Couple on Cedar Close by Anna-Lou Weatherley - Blog Tour



One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food, and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband Robert is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live – a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen.

Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.

Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife Laurie sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands. 

She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.

The trouble is, no-one believes her…

An utterly gripping page-turner about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone GirlThe Couple on Cedar Close will keep you reading late into the night.



Purchase Links 
   






Author Bio:

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

To find out more about Anna's novels, go to https://www.facebook.com/annalouweatherleyauthor/ or follow https://twitter.com/annaloulondon on Twitter.

My Review

It is my first blog tour of 2019, and what a book to start the year off with! 
The Couple on Cedar Close had me hooked from the beginning. The characters in this story were brilliant and I now have a little bookish crush on Detective Dan Riley. He is just superb! 
I had so much sympathy for Laurie throughout. This is very much thanks to Anna's writing who made me care about what was happening to Laurie. She is a deeply sad woman, for many different reasons. 
I didn't actually realise this was book two in the series so it can certainly be read as a standalone. I havent read any of Anna-Lou Weatherley's work before, but this book was a mass of intrigue and mystery. 
Although I guessed a little of what was happening, the full extent was something which blew me away. 
The Couple on Cedar Close is quite disturbing in parts, but certainly worth a read if you enjoy a good thriller.
I am looking forward to reading more books featuring Dan Ripley, he is just everything I like in a detective.
I can't say too much more without spoilers, but if you like thrillers this one is a must read. 

Thank you to Bookouture for inviting me to take part on this tour for this amazing read. To find out what others thought follow the rest of tour, dates and bloggers below. 


SHARE:

1 comment

  1. this book sounds super interesting!!
    must read :)
    -Lena

    ReplyDelete

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig