Saturday, 1 December 2018

The Silent Dead by Graham Smith - Blog Tour

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough...

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District. 

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James. 


Purchase Links






Author Bio
Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel - The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland. 

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Author Social Media Links





My Review

Well what a great read this was! It has all the things I love and expect from this genre, including rather gruesome descriptions of the murder victims. One of the parts I enjoyed the most were the chapters told from the killers point of view. So I knew what he was thinking and doing at the same time the police were investigating his crimes.

DC Beth Young is an excellent character, she has so much depth. Being new to her department she is eager to make a good impression. I got to learn a lot about her past and cant wait to see how her character develops throughout this new series of books. She has a dogged determination to find the truth and who is responsible for these atrocious crimes. I have a feeling she will become among one of my favourite investigators.

I can't talk about who is responsible for the murders without giving any spoilers. But there was an interesting side to who was committing the crimes that I found compelling to read.

I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. Graham Smith has delivered an outstanding story that has become one of my favourite reads this year. I look forward to reading the next instalment of this story.

If you like your crime thrillers with a disturbing twist The Silent Dead should be added to your reading list.

Thank you to Noelle from Bookouture for inviting me to take part on this tour. To find out what others thought follow the blog tour. Dates and bloggers below.





SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig